Advanced Level - DPO Continuous Development Programme - Programme

Tuesday 4 Oct 2022 - Tuesday 21 Mar 2023
Digital delivery

Keep up to date, compliant, and have your questions answered throughout the academic year

#oeGDPR

Running over twelve sessions between October and March, our DPO continuous development programme is led by education GDPR expert lawyer, Dai Durbridge, who will provide you with all you need to stay up-to-date throughout the year. Delivered remotely via Zoom, the interactive and engaging course is limited to 30 delegates per cohort and includes eight 2-hour learning sessions and four 1-hour sessions focused on your questions and answers.

 

Tuesday 4 October (10:00 - 12:00)

  • The Children's Code: ensuring compliance
  • Learning from education breaches: actions to take to avoid the most frequent and dangerous breaches

Tuesday 11 October (10:00 - 12:00)

SARs practical deep dive: reviewing a document bundle to determine:

  • Which document to include
  • The personal data to redact
  • Managing conflicting third party rights

Tuesday 18 October (10:00 - 11:00)

  • One-hour wrap up session to revisit the topics covered and discuss delegates' burning issues

Tuesday 22 November (10:00 - 12:00)

DPIAs masterclass

  • When to carry one out and who to involve
  • Work through a case study to complete a strong DPIA
  • Take away what a good one looks like

Tuesday 29 November (10:00 - 12:00)

Data and cyber security

  • Tools, tricks and methods for strong data security
  • Eradicating human error and negligence
  • Protecting your setting from the growing risk of cyber attacks

Tuesday 6 December (10:00 - 11:00)

  • One-hour free form Q&A

Tuesday 10 January (10:00 - 12:00)

Data breach practical: part one deep dive

Unpack a real life case study and consider:

  • Personal and special category data for 100+ individuals
  • Assessing, understanding and containing the breach
  • Managing affected individuals

Tuesday 17 January (10:00 - 12:00)

Data breach practical: part two deep dive

Unpack a real life case study and consider:

  • Getting communication right
  • Managing press interest
  • Reporting in stages to the ICO
  • Considering and addressing the risk of compensation claims

Tuesday 24 January (10:00 - 11:00)

  • One-hour free form Q&A 

Tuesday 28 February (10:00 - 12:00)

Outstanding GDPR governance

  • Excellence in GDPR governance
  • GDPR/H&S/Safeguarding - the compliance trinity
  • Reviewing key policies to support GDPR compliance

Tuesday 14 March (10:00 - 12:00)

  • Data champions: building and leading your team
  • Identifying and plugging knowledge gaps

Tuesday 21 March (10:00 - 11:00)

  • One-hour free form Q&A and course close